Mad Scientist Spice PUMPKIN Latte

The iconic Pumpkin Spice Latte has been resurrected early this season. What better time for me to resurrect my own recipe which, by the way, includes real pumpkin and fabulous spices and you make it at home for a fraction of the price of the big name AND you get to drink it from your favorite “Grandma” coffee mug. You don’t even need an espresso machine to make this. Just brew a good strong cuppa. If you’ve got a machine? Yay!

In case you didn’t know, I’m kind of, sort of, in love with pumpkin. Pumpkin pie, pumpkin pie blizzards (oh my heaven do I love pumpkin pie blizzards) and yes, Pumpkin Spice Lattes.  I celebrate these seasonal treats and indulge in them as long as they are available. Imagine my joy to find a recipe on line and I could make Lattes at home! I made adaptations and adjustments in the Lah-BOR-atory and the Mad Scientist had her own recipe.

I originally posted the recipe on my writing blog and since I made the decision to start a blog dedicated to The Mad Scientists adventures in the kitchen, I figured now was a great time to bring this recipe home to where it belongs.

IMG_0208

Mad Scientist Spiced PUMPKIN Latte

  • 8 oz strong brewed coffee – Keurig & single cup brewers make this easy!
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup whole milk (depends on how strong you like your drink)
  • 1 “cube” frozen pumpkin
  • 1/8 tsp all spice *
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon *
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • REAL whipped cream
* – NOTE I don’t use pumpkin spice. I use all spice and cinnamon in equal proportions in my pumpkin pie.
Place the milk, pumpkin cube, all spice, cinnamon and brown sugar In a large coffee mug . Microwave on high for 1 to 1-1/2 minutes. Check this every 20 seconds and give it a stir to bust up the cube. It’s “done” when the pumpkin is melted and the milk mixture is steamy hot. Fill the mug with your strong brewed coffee and top with whipped cream. Keep your spoon with you to give your drink a stir now and then to keep everything mixed together. The pumpkin likes to “settle” in the bottom of the cup. Now go sit in your comfy quiet place, close your eyes and take your first delicious sip.
Wipe the whipped cream of the tip of your nose. You know it’s there.
Posted on August 27, 2014, in Beverages. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Minions Reply Here

