Goo-oood Gravy! Sausage Gravy? Done!

White gravy, the kind of biscuits and gravy fame has been a thorn in my side my entire cooking life.  I can make you a brown gravy or turkey gravy that will make you wanna slap your momma it’s so darn good, but white gravy? Mine turned out tasting more like school paste than down home white gravy with sausage. A few months ago I made a batch that was better than any before (I didn’t have to throw it out). Tonight, biscuits with sausage and gravy were the dinner plan tonight so I decided to tackle this back monkey again instead of cheating and buying a package or jar of the stuff. Amazingly,

I DID IT!

I managed to make really, no I mean, REALLY good sausage gravy! Woot!

Here’s what I did.

I used  turkey sausage patties, chopped up four patties in about 1/4 cup of heated canola oil and browned it really good. I added 1/4 cup of flour and cooked the pasty smell out of it (it smells toasty and yummy when it’s right). Then I whisked in 1 cup of 2 percent milk and added more milk until I had the consistency I wanted. I added 3 or 4 pinches of kosher salt and about 1/2 tsp of fresh coarse ground black pepper. I tasted tested it and it was salty enough but missing something. So I added my favorite new seasoning tool. Magi Sauce. It took just three shakes and the taste was perfect. Perfectly delicious! Next time, I’ll make it with fresh sausage instead of precooked patties, and I’ll probably use turkey again because the taste is still on point, and I save some calories than the full fat pork variety.

So dinner success. Better yet, sausage gravy success. I no longer have to hold my head in shame about my inability to make this yummy gravy that is a must for biscuits and gravy, chicken fried steak or chicken fried chicken and gravy.

Mmmmm! Sausage Gravy! Oh My!

Here’s the list of ingredients:

  • About 1/2 pound of any breakfast sausage
  • 1/4 cup canola oil (less if using pork sausage which has more fat than turkey)
  • 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 3 or 4 pinches of kosher or sea salt (1/4 teaspoon each so 1 to 1-1/2 tsps?)
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 1  to 1-1/2 cups milk (you can chose your fat level here as well, whole, 2%, skim; your decide)

I always do gravy by “taste, smell, and feel.” This means the list of ingredients is approximates. I personally don’t care for the really thick gravy you can stand a spoon up in. I like mine a little thinner so this is where the “feel” comes in. Taste is the most important and I always have a finger tasting spoon on hand to test the flavors. Why I couldn’t get my spidey senses around white gravy is a mystery.

Thankfully, that has come to an end.

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Sauce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Minions Reply Here

