Super Mad BBQ! Sauce

We are hosting a Super Bowl gathering at our house and it was decided we would smoke up a massive batch of ribs and a couple of chickens on my fabulous Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker/Smoker. When I got the smoker for Christmas I was determined if I was going to do the meat myself I HAD to have my own BBQ sauce, so I started to experiment like the Mad Scientist that I am.

I’ve been cooking since my Mom put me in front of a stove at about 12 years old, so I’ve experienced and experimented with a lot of flavors over the year. When you have a good idea what flavors go together it makes it easy to find something pretty quick, and it took me one try to blend together the right ingredients to make a fabulous base sauce. I made sure to measure each addition and did a  tally sheet with the ingredients so I would know what I had done at the end of the process.

This weekend I know some will want spicy sauce and some will want sweet sauce and others will want a savory sauce. I took the base sauce I concocted and split it up to make two new flavors. I’ll run you through what I did to make three sauces out of one batch of Super Mad BBQ Sauce.

After you get your sauce(s) cooked up, refrigerate for best flavor. I’ve found a week after I made this the first time, the sauces were really good. So, patience is rewarded.

Let’s get started with the recipe for the base sauce.

***UPDATE – I made an additional set of ingredients to make the sauce a little more homemade. I created a catsup recipe and incorporated those ingredients into the additional list which is directly underneath the first incarnation. You can chose to catsup or not to catsup.

***************************************************************************

The players

Super Mad BBQ! Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups Catsup
  • 1 8oz can Tomato Sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 bottle liquid smoke (I use mesquite)
  • 1/4 cup Apple Cider vinegar
  • 4 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3 Tbsp. Yellow Mustard
  • 3 Tbsp. Tomato Paste
  • 1 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. Magi Liquid Seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp. Honey
  • 1 tsp. salt

Scratch (No Catsup) Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz can Tomato Sauce
  • 1-1/2 6oz cans Tomato Paste
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup + 1 T Apple Cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3  cup white sugar
  • 1 bottle liquid smoke (I use mesquite)
  • 4 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3 Tbsp. Yellow Mustard
  • 1 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. Magi Liquid Seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp. Honey
  • 2-1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Onion Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon Molasses
  • small pinch each Cinnamon, Allspice & Cayenne

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a 2 or 3 qt. saucepan. Bring up to heat on medium then simmer over low heat for 20-30 minutes. Cool and transfer to condiment bottles then store in refrigerator.

All the players swimming in the pool together, getting ready for a stir

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now let’s work on some options. I enjoy Asian flavors in BBQ sauce and I LOVE orange chicken in Chinese Restaurants, so I decided to use those flavors to make an yummy, sweet Asian sauce.

Asian Super Mad BBQ! Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 Cups Super Mad Sauce
  • 1/4 cup Orange Marmalade
  • 1/4 cup Soy Sauce

Directions:

Combine ingredients in a blender (or bowl and use a stick blender) blend well until smooth. Pour into sauce pan and simmer for 10 or 15 minutes to cook new flavors into the base sauce.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There’s is always a place for a hot and spicy sauce when you’re making BBQ. My Captain loves spicey foods so here’s what you need to do to make your sauce hot and spicy!

Foolishly Hot Mad BBQ! Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups Super Mad BBQ! Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp to 1/4 cup – more? Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce (depending on how foolish you want to be)
Combine in a saucepan and simmer 10 to 15 minutes then transfer to a bottle and refrigerate.

HOT as HELL BBQ! Sauce

  • 1/4 cup of Sriracha
  • 1/4 to 1/2 Tablespoon black pepper
  • 3 full peppers from a can of Chipotles
  • 2-3 Tablespoons sauce from Chipotles
  • 2 cups base BBQ sauce

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan and using a stick blender, blend until smooth. Simmer 10-15 minutes. Cool then transfer into a bottle and refrigerate.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

You’ve go the options, now go make some sauce!

Posted on February 4, 2012, in Sauce and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Minions Reply Here

