Loco Mexican Confetti Soup

I’m predictable in my predictability. When my dinner plans are unknown or defeated I make soup.

Tonight was suppose to be Green Chili but I failed to check the pantry and a key ingredient was missing; White beans! Determined to have chili or soup of some sort, I got busy. As always, I rely on what’s in my pantry and available in the produce drawer of my fridge. I had part of three different kinds of bell pepper and the last of a celery bunch.

As I put things together I decided it would be soup with Mexican seasoning and flavor and I hit a home run! The Mad Scientist blended and stirred, added bits and pieces, a pinch and a smidgen. As I was sampling throughout the process the flavors reminded me of Mexican Posole and I knew it would have to have be served with limes and fresh cilantro. It’s shocking but ~~>I was right! <~~.

Do as I say, not as I do and gather/shop for your ingredients ahead of time. You are gonna LOOOOVE this!

*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*~~~~~*

Loco Mexican Confetti Soup - Mad Science

Loco Mexican Confetti Soup 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound mild or breakfast sausage
  • 2 – 15 ounce cans black beans drained and rinsed
  • 1 – 15 ounce can Hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 2 – 4 ounce cans diced green chilies
  • 1 – 7 ounce can Herdez Salsa Verde
  • 1/2 Cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 Cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped orange or yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4  cup chopped onion
  • 1 Box Chicken Stock
  • 1 Cup water
  • 1T Salt
  • 2 T Cumin
  • 1 T Garlic Powder
  • 1 T Chicken base
  • 2 T dry Cilantro or 1/4 cup fresh
  • Black Pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, brown loose sausage. Brown = good flavor! The cooking process will soften the meat up. Do not drain! Add remaining ingredients. Bring to a slow boil then reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. Even better, throw it all in a crock pot/slow cooker for 3-6 hours and let it get REAL happy! If you use the slow cooker, wait to add the peppers and celery until the last hour of cooking. They will remain bright and vibrant colored so your soup will look beautiful!

Serve with a plate of warm rolled corn tortillas (spray both sides of soft corn tortillas with No-stick spray. I used canola. place in a gallon zip top bag and microwave for 30 seconds or until warm and soft enough to roll the tortillas for serving)

lime wedges

chopped fresh cilantro.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Main Dish, Soup. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Minions Reply Here

